Parent liaisons are parent members who work in the school to serve as a communication link between home and school.
The School Governing Body deals with strategic planning for the School, infrastructure development and financial management.

School Governing Body

SGB Member Office Role/Committee/Portfolio/Special Project Comment
Werner Thétard Parent Representative SGB Chairperson, Strategy review
Shamiso Nyoka Parent Representative SGB Vice Chairperson
Samantha Steyn Staff Representative SGB Secretary
Ashley Holling Parent Representative SGB Treasurer, Finance Committee Chair
Cara Kahn Parent Representative Alumni Portfolio (Past Pupils)
Janine Thétard Parent Representative Discipline Committee : Chairperson
Shakir Smith Parent Representative Facilities Portfolio
Simone Segall Parent Representative Parent Liaison Portfolio
Brian Williams Co-opted member of SGB School Development – Business management, Financial governance, Audit, Uniform/Clothing Shop Review Lynnette Olivier & Vic v Heerden co-opted to Finance Committee
Carol van der Spuy Co-opted member of SGB Marketing & Communications Portfolio
Louis Mostert Principal Strategy, School Leadership and Management
Kevin Jenneke Teacher Representative IT
Oliver van Gruting Teacher Representative Policy Review Project
Michael Gulston, Nishaat Williams RCL Representative Pupils
Kiera Kresfelder Co-opted member of SGB Prefect Portfolio

Camps Bay High School is governed by the School Governing Body (SGB). This is an elected group of parents, senior pupils, academic staff, support staff and the principal. The parents are at all times in the majority on the SGB. This body deals with strategic planning for the School, infrastructure development and financial management. Some of their specific functions include, determining the annual school fees, the school Code of Conduct and the school uniform and general dress code.

The composition of the elected members is:

7 x Parents of pupils who attend our school;

2 x Teaching Staff representatives;

2 x Pupil representatives from the RCL (Representative Council of Learners);

1 x Support Staff representative;

Other interested parties who hold the best interests of the school at heart can be co-opted onto the SGB as and when needed;

The School Principal is automatically a member of the SGB.

At Camps Bay High the SGB has a long and proud tradition of attracting parents who are highly skilled and able to offer their time and expertise to the school. From this very active and involved group of governors the school has been able to achieve a number of ambitious projects over the last few years. These include infrastructure projects like building a brand new swimming pool, building new classrooms and a cultural centre. Other special projects that the governors have co-ordinated include re-writing the school Code of Conduct and collecting thousands of books for our school library as well as the libraries of other schools in our area.

The Governors for 2020/21 are:
Mr. Werner Thetard (Chairperson)
Mr. Ashley Holling (Vice Chairperson)
Mr. Brian Williams (Treasurer)
Ms Janine Thetard
Ms Wendy Foster
Ms Simone Segall
Ms Shamiso Nyoka
Mr David de Korte
Ms Moya Laufer
Mr Louis Mostert
Mr Victor van Heerden
Ms Cara Kahn (Co-opted Member)
Ms Carol van der Spuy (Co-opted Member)
Ms Lynette Olivier (Co-opted Member)
Ms Amava Mkuku (Head Prefect)
Mr Storm Rhoda (Deputy Head Prefect)
Ms Thandeka Mdawini (Deputy Head Prefect)

Contact Camps Bay High School

Kindly send us an email and we'll get back to you ASAP.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt